Awarded Annually

The Peter Walker Fine Art writer award

Articles published in the Australiana magazine are eligible for the Peter Walker Fine Art writer award. The award is made annually for the best article and is judged by a respected authority of Australian decorative arts. The Peter Walker Fine Art writer award is generously sponsored by Peter Walker Fine Arts of Adelaide.

Please click on the link to read the latest winner of the Peter Walker Fine Art writer award: Richard Dowling, the elusive cabinetmaker of O'Brien's Bridge, Van Diemen's Land (PDF file will open in a new window)

Past winners
 Year Author Article Issue(s) Judge 
 2021 Jo Vandepeer The Browns of Montrose, near Mintaro May 2021 Megan Martin
 2020 David Bedford Richard Dowling, the elusive cabinetmaker of O'Brien's Bridge, Van Diemen's Land May 2020 Megan Martin
 2019Justin Gare, Peter Scammell & Andrew Klenke
 Kingston's vision: South Australia's earliest and most enigmatic piece of colonial furniture
 May 2019
 Megan Martin
 2018David Bedford Moreton Bay pearls in Australian jewellery Aug 2018Elizabeth Ellis OAM
 2017Robert Stevens Elizabeth Hudspeth, an artist in Van Diemen's LandFeb 2017Elizabeth Ellis OAM
 2016John Wade Kevin Fahy (1932-2007) Friend, patriarch, storyteller, scholar Aug 2016 Elizabeth Ellis OAM
 2015Karen Eaton John Black Carmichael (1803-1857), artist and engraverNov 2015Elizabeth Ellis OAM
 2014Dr James BertouchTaking tea in the coloniesAug 2014Elizabeth Ellis OAM
 2013 (joint)Rosemary AnnableUpholding king and churchMay 2013Elizabeth Ellis OAM
 2013 (joint)Joy HughesGeorge III's gift to the Governors of New South WalesMay 2013Elizabeth Ellis OAM
 2012Christine ErrattCeremonial maces of Australian universities [2 parts]Feb & May 2012Elizabeth Ellis OAM
 2011Dr Dorothy EricksonWilliam Howitt: woodcarver of distinctionNov 2011Elizabeth Ellis OAM
 2010Robyn LakeBound for Van Diemen's Land: Scottish cabinet maker Alexander Watson and the tools of his tradeFeb 2010Elizabeth Ellis OAM
 2007-2009 NO AWARD  
 2006Roslyn MaguireAngelo Tornaghi's tilesNov 2006Australiana Society Committee
 2005Ruth DwyerThe pledge of her affectionNov 2005Kevin Fahy AM
 2004Robert M WarnekeA scrimshaw box in the Clyde Bank Collection and its conjectural Australian significanceMay 2004Kevin Fahy AM
 2004  (encouragement award)John EdwardsEdward Baker Boulton (1812-1895): a watercolorist rediscoveredAug 2004Kevin Fahy AM
 2003Robyn LakeGeorge Peck purveyor of the fine artsNov 2003Kevin Fahy AM
 2003  (encouragement award)Andrew MorrisCharles Henry Theodore Constantini: convict, surgeon, artist & ... forger?May 2004Kevin Fahy AM
 2002Robyn LakeA stranger to the town: the life of colonial painter Frederick StrangeAug 2002Kevin Fahy AM
 2001R.A. FredmanDates and doubts. A review of current Australian nineteenth century furniture datingFeb 2001Kevin Fahy
 2000John HawkinsJulius Hogarth: behind the shopfront. Part 1: the first bankruptcy 1861 and Julius Hogarth: behind the shopfront. Part 2: the second and third bankruptciesMay & Aug 2000Kevin Fahy
 1999John HawkinsA royal visitor: the Duke of Edinburgh K.G. [three parts]May, Aug & Nov 1999Kevin Fahy & John Wade
Interested in becoming a member?
The Australiana Society acknowledges Australia’s First Nations Peoples – the First Australians – as the Traditional Owners and Custodians of this land and gives respect to the Elders – past and present – and through them to all Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.